Top 5 Disney Movies

Here is My personal list of the Top 5 Disney Cartoons 

  1. Hercules (1997)

Disney’s Hercules will always have a special place in my heart. It is a fun and sweet movie about finding your place in the world. We start out with an awkward but sweet Hercules who earnestly wants to make his family proud. When he finds out that he is the son of Zeus he feels like he has finally found his place and will do anything to claim it. Throughout the movie, he learns that he doesn’t need to be a hero to have a place in the world. The songs in that movie were some of the best Disney or not. Zero to Hero, Go the Distance and I won’t say (I’m in love) were classics.

  1. Beauty and the Beast (1991)

Beauty and the Beast is a classic movie, to the point where I’m surprised if people haven’t seen it. It’s a great movie to teach kids that they need to look beyond the outside and get to know a person. It also shows that its ok to walk your own path and do your own thing. This movie has one of the best music number in any Disney movie. Be Our Guest is without a doubt one of the most entertaining scenes in movie history.

  1. Atlantis: The Lost Empire (2001)

I don’t feel like this movie gets enough credit. It’s a little darker than most Disney movies and I don’t mean storyline. The whole film is made with more subdued colors then most Disney movies and the animation is different but that’s what adds to this movie. This movie tells the story of Milo Thatch who has spent his whole life believing in the lost city of Atlantis. When he gets the opportunity to travel to find the lost city he jumps at the chance. This journey send him into a world win of adventure that leads him to Kida, who is strong and fierce while remaining young at heart. If you haven’t seen this movie you really should. It is a hidden gem in the world of cartoons.

  1. Tarzan (1999)

Music by Phil Collins, Minnie Driver as Jane and Rosie O’Donnell as a fun loving but loyal gorilla, what’s not to love?  Every part of Tarzan was well done. The music was on point, the characters were realistic and easy to connect to. This is a movie that I could honestly watch repeatedly and not get tired of it. I really like that they pushed the idea that you can be a family without looking like each other and that the bonds you make a stronger then you think. Tarzan, Turk and Tantor and the kind of friendship I aspired to have. And I love Jane for being fearless and sensible at the same time and Tarzan for being loyal having a huge heart. This movie will always remain one of my favourites and it honestly switched for first place a lot.

  1. Aladdin

I know a lot of people who don’t like this movie, but it remains a personal favourite of mine. Not just as a Disney movie but an all-time favourite. I guess there’s just something about the storyline. Aladdin just wants to be with Jasmine and uses Genie to make it happen but Jasmine isn’t impressed by him being a prince. It’s who Aladdin is that draws her in. I also love that Aladdin does the right thing at the end and let’s Genie go. He could have been selfish and used his final wish on himself but sets Genie free and still gets the girl. I guess I have always taken it to mean if you do right by those around you good things will happen. I also just love the soundtrack. At one point and time I had the whole soundtrack on my phone and listened to it regularly. Simply put this movie gives me joy.

 

Leave a Reply

