Before I Fall Review

 

May Contain Spoilers

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I went to see this movie. I heard a lot of good things but the trailer and general concept reminded me of If I Stay. A movie that came out 3 or 4 years ago staring Chloe Grace Moretz that I really didn’t like, so I was apprehensive about it.

Before I Fall stars Zoey Dutch (The Suit life on Deck and Dirty Grandpa) as Samantha a girl who relives the same day repeatedly. It seems that no matter what she does she can’t change the outcome. As she repeats the same day over she learns about herself and those around her. Eventually these lessons change her and she learns that to move on she must let go. She spends her final day righting her wrongs one last time before sacrificing herself so that girl she and her friends drove to suicide doesn’t die.

My initial thought that this movie was like If I Stay was right. And like that movie I did not enjoy this one. It felt flat and I was counting down the time till I could leave. The acting was ok, everyone put in effort to make their characters and the story relatable. But it didn’t feel relatable it was whiney and tiring. It was a movie where nothing really happened and they through in a cringeworthily ending dialogue. Maybe I was expecting too much from the movie but like most people I want to be drawn into the movie. I want to care about the characters and the connections wasn’t there for me.

I would give this movie a 3.5/10. I could see why other people like it but it wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

